University of Lugano

The University of Lugano (or USI for short, deriving from its Italian name Università della Svizzera italiana) is the youngest of the 10 cantonal Universities in Switzerland. Founded in 1996, it is comprised of four faculties: architecture, communication sciences, economics, and informatics.

It is home to some 2400 students from over 30 nationalities, over 600 academic staff and 30 research institutes, currently pursuing approximately 50 scientific projects. The Faculty of Informatics, which is a partner in PD-NET, was inaugurated in 2004 and already features a faculty of 16 full, associate, and assistant professors, making it the largest computer science faculty of all Swiss cantonal Universities (second only to the two large Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich and Lausanne). The faculty has a strong research track record, in particular in systems software engineering, information retrieval formal methods, security and privacy, ubiquitous computing, and human-computer interaction.